Unhappy with new job

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Jax123, Dec 16, 2017.

1. Jax123

Jax123 Rookie

Dec 16, 2017

I know I shouldn't complain because I have a teaching job but I am very unhappy with my new job. I left my last school district because I thought the grass would be greener in a slightly better ranking district. I am a special ed teacher, always was. It's not the students (I think they are amazing) but the regular ed teachers (most of them....not all) are horrible. They think every kid with a label should be a special ed student. They also think all special ed kids should be in a special ed room all day. They refuse to do the extra step with the kids, even when the kid is only in their room for less than 60 mins a day. Some paras have said that the teachers will stop helping certain regular ed. kids so they fall behind and get identified as a special ed kid. I hear the teachers talk bad about me so I feel like I am in middle school.

Some things were done illegally last year (from what the paras and some teachers tell me)...such as throwing unidentified kids in the special ed room and sending special ed kids down when they wanted too (beyond the time listed in iep). I talked to the principal about it and the school psychologist. The principal is super sweet but I think she is just not well informed about the special ed process. The school psychologist admitted wrongdoings and is in the process of fixing things (on a 2 year plan---I don't think I can last two more years here), such as the paperwork. The psychologist also admitted how horrible the regular ed teachers are towards special ed kids and that's why the previous special ed teacher left. The director of special ed came back from leave and I talked to her about a few things (not all---I didn't want to come off as insane). She has made some changes with some students who shouldn't be in my room.