Typical peer preschool programs

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Caesar753, Aug 12, 2017.

1. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Aug 12, 2017

What is your experience with and/or opinion of these programs? Are your feelings as a teacher the same as your feelings as a parent?

3. Preschool0929

Preschool0929 Comrade

Aug 13, 2017

I teach in an inclusive spec ed preschool classroom. We stay at around 60-70% spec ed and the rest are typical peer models. Although, I've had years where we were at 90-95%.

As a teacher, I see the benefits. I get to pair students with others that have more appropriate social and communication skills and the growth throughout the year is usually amazing. It can also be a struggle though. A lot of my students need 1:1 support for behavior or physical needs. There are days where my time is spent restraining students, managing meltdowns, catching runners, etc... and my typical kids aren't getting the attention and direct interaction and instruction they deserve.

As a parent, my child is actually in a similar class. I go back and forth on whether I like it for him. I love that he sees differences and is learning empathy and how to be a leader. However, just like in my class, i feel like he doesn't always get the attention I would like, and they aren't able to go as in depth with curriculum because there is such a wide range for differentiation.

4. bella84

bella84 Enthusiast

Aug 13, 2017

I'm not a parent, and I don't have any experience teaching preschool. However...