Trying to find a job... some questions

Discussion in 'Job Hunting & Interviews' started by Walker, Jul 17, 2017.

1. Walker

Walker Rookie

Jul 17, 2017

Hi!
    I have some questions and i know I can get knowledgeable answers and a variety of opinions here. I've been looking for a teaching position since June with no luck which i understand because my Bachelor's Degree is in Marketing/Business Administration (not education) and i have just about 2 years of experience working in summer camps and as a teacher's assistant. A friend told me that principals usually consider people that are certified first and then they are more open to hire people that are in the process of getting certified, so she thinks i will have more opportunities when August gets closer. What are your thoughts on that??

Another question, I've been to four interviews and two of those interviews went very well (at least that's what i thought) in both occasions they mentioned something like "we love your personality and the fact that you are bilingual... we think you would be a great member to this school" but then they never called so... my question is, is this normal? are they saying those things just to say "bye" in a nice way? Because i had an interview and the principal was very honest (which i prefer), she said that she could see my passion for the job but that she was worried about my classroom management due to the fact that I've never had my own class.

Third and last question! What do you think about sending a thank you email after the interview? I started doing it because my sister says that it is a MUST (she is a teacher)