Transition to Teaching / Licensing

Discussion in 'General Education' started by ChildWhisperer, Jul 10, 2019.

1. ChildWhisperer

ChildWhisperer Devotee

Jul 10, 2019

So... a few years ago, I got my Master's in ElEd, but I didn't know when I started that it was a non-licensure program until I was almost done with it, so I just finished it and worked in private school, Head Start, long term subbed, etc.
    Well, not too long ago, the school I got it from introduced a Transition to Teaching program for those with a Bachelor's and offers just enough classes to lead to licensure (after student teaching & exams), and I've already taken most of the classes offered on it.
    I asked them about it, and they said I'd have to redo all the classes because it's been "too long" (5.5 years) since I took the classes.

So I've got a Master's in Education without a license. I've been lucky so far; I haven't had any trouble finding teaching jobs, but I'm thinking about the future.
    Am I pretty much stuck? Any other ways to get licensed without going through an entire program again?? Thoughts?

3. mathteachertobe

mathteachertobe Cohort

Jul 10, 2019

What does your state require to issue you a license that you don't have yet? I thought most non-licensure programs didn't have a student teaching component, but otherwise were very similar to the licensure track. I wonder if your practical experience may be able to replace some of the requirements. For instance, in California: