Transcript Evaluation in NJ

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by robb, Jun 17, 2015.

1. robb

robb Rookie

Jun 17, 2015

Hello,

I'm wondering if there's any way to self assess your transcripts to determine eligibility for specific certs. I know that NJ does this but we're currently in the off period where they won't accept any for evaluation. I'm looking to get a head start on some praxis exams but am not sure what I would qualify for because I don't know what's accepted for a particular specialization. Is there any way to figure this out on your own? Thanks in advance.

3. vickilyn

vickilyn Magnifico

Jun 17, 2015

Are there specific endorsements that you are interested in? I know a lot about this, but I need to know what you are interested in.

4. robb

robb Rookie

Jun 17, 2015

Well I have a liberal arts degree in Communications..So I know that limits me to anything beyond Elementary. I would like to get middle school specializations. I am not looking to get certified in anything specifically at the moment. By that I mean that I am not dead set on teaching one particular subject. I want to see what I am the closest to being certified for and then take my Praxis. Like yourself, I would continue trying to obtain certifications as I move along and have steady employment and time to take some additional classes.

If anything I'd be closest for History or English, but I don't know what the D.O.E. counts toward each. For example, does an American Government course count for history or do they only take into account specific courses that pertain to subject matter that you would be teaching? Do Creative Writing courses and things like that count toward English?

That's the kind of stuff I'd like to know so that I can see if there's anything that my transcripts already make me eligible for. This way I can register for those Praxis tests and not have to wait until after September 1 to submit those to the state and then find out.

5. vickilyn