Training question: I'm afraid to tell them I wasn't trained properly

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by Kenz501, Feb 7, 2018.

1. Kenz501

Kenz501 Cohort

Feb 7, 2018

How can I tell my boss that I wasn't trained properly without risking being fired, let go, non-renewed, etc.? I've been at this placement for almost seven months, and I've been struggling and faking it almost every day. I'm a certified teacher on paper, but I have almost no idea what I'm doing in the classroom. The curriculum is confusing to me, and the kids' behavior has me very frustrated. I've even had a couple of panic attacks since I've been teaching here. It's a good school, not like the places I'm used to working. My first real "teaching" job was at a youth center, and I wasn't even always teaching my subject. I'm making a whole lot more money here; I've even been able to start paying on my student loan, and I love the climate and being around my family. I don't want to lose this job, but I'm not sure if even new teachers are supposed to struggle this much. I don't know how to teach what I've been assigned to teach, and my lessons are often confusing to the kids. I hate what I'm doing, but I feel like I could do better if I could just get someone to give me an idea of what I'm supposed to be doing.

We're so departmentalized, though, that one middle school teacher doesn't even know what the other is doing. I feel like I'm bothering the more experienced teachers when I ask for help, and I think my superiors have made it clear that they expect more of me. I'm also leery of telling anyone that I don't really get it, because they've all tried so hard to help me. I'm really sorry for being slow on the uptake, but if I don't know how to use their curriculum guide how am I supposed to successfully develop my own lessons?

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Feb 7, 2018