To leave or not to leave... that is the question

Discussion in 'General Education' started by snow k, Jul 11, 2017.

1. snow k

snow k New Member

Jul 11, 2017

This may be long, but any advice or food for thought is appreciated.
    I have two degrees, Bachelor of Commerce and Bachelor of Education and to be honest I have never really made my mind up as to which direction I should go. I have been teaching for three years and the first year was incredibly rough, as I have learned it is for most beginners, but it really left a sour taste in my mouth. Anyways, the following year I had a grade change, and it was not a grade level that I felt I was suited for, but I made it work. It was definitely better than the first year, however, I find Sept- Feb/March I always struggle. It is so hard for me to think positively in those months (maybe seasonal depression?). I like kids, and I have one of my own, but to be brutally honest, I get very burned out in those months and I am not passionate about much in the curriculum. So after March, I don't know if it is because spring hits, or the end is near, I start to feel a light, where I can actually think positive thoughts and enjoy myself. My mood completely shifts gears. This year it all happened again, I wrote a journal this time, and again Sept- Feb. I wasn't in the best mind frame and wrote a few times that I need to get out, but then it all shifted again in March. And now the confliction happens, a friend of mine had recommended me to her company, and I have a job offer on the table. It is a sales position, but you are able to work from home a lot of the time. It also pays a lot more than teaching, BUT only 3 weeks holidays, opposed to the generous time off that teaching provides. I think I would enjoy this work, but my concerns are the pressure of sales, job stability (even though this is a market-leading company, job stability concerns me), and the fluctuation that the schedule may bring; some days it is work from 9-2, oth