Time until Interview

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by jw12, Jun 14, 2012.

1. jw12

jw12 Rookie

Jun 14, 2012

I've applied for a position at a school district which is close to my home. I hold a Bachelor's Degree in the content area (science) and my M.Ed. I filled out the application and included a list of awards/honors as well as three letters of recommendation, and then hand-delivered the application. I feel that I'm completely qualified for the position.

This was nearly two weeks ago and still no interview... I don't really want to call because I don't want to seem "pushy." Besides, I doubt that they could tell me anything other than "the Superintendent is reviewing all of the applications, etc., etc..."

Is it safe to assume that I won't be called for an interview at all, or is it still too early to tell? How long should I wait before giving up on getting this job?

If anyone has any comments/suggestions/moral support to give, I would really appreciate it.

3. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Jun 14, 2012

Was there an application deadline?

I would call just to ask where they are in the hiring process. You might find that they have already filled the position or that they haven't begun yet, but at least you'll know.

4. jw12

jw12 Rookie

Jun 14, 2012

No, there wasn't an application deadline. I know that the school was in need of a principal as well. So maybe they're going to hire a principal, and then let him/her hire new teacher(s). There's a board meeting coming up soon, so maybe I'll learn something then!

5. AlwaysAttend

AlwaysAttend Fanatic

Jun 15, 2012

Obviously there is no guarantee you will be interviewed just because you are qualified. My guess though would be they are waiting on a new principal.

6. TeacherNY

TeacherNY Phenom

Jun 15, 2012

You can't expect an interview just because you applied. Just be patient. I guess you could call and ask if they have started interviewing yet but it does seem a bit pushy.

7. houseofbooks