Thumb Sucking in High School

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Muttling, Mar 27, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Muttling

Muttling Devotee

Mar 27, 2009

Greetings All,

The topic says it all and I have no idea what to make of it. This is my first year as licensed teacher, I was math aide for 3 months last year. In that time, I have had 3 high school students who still sucked their thumbs.

One of them is a tremendously good student in my Algebra I class and one of the two that I am recommending for honors geometry next year.

I haven't addressed the thumb sucking at all and all my students ignore it as well. (Well....There is one exception and I crack down hard on him for disrespecting others which he does quite often.)

It strikes me as very odd, but I'm not looking to confront the behavior or wanting to try to change it. I am just wondering how common this is and what you guys/gals think of it.

3. ku_alum

ku_alum Aficionado

Mar 27, 2009

Four years of teaching HS, 100 students every year ... never had a thumb sucker.

Strange.

Do you mean what I am imagining ... full on thumbsucking? Like, a youngster would do?

4. Muttling

Muttling Devotee

Mar 27, 2009

YEP. As in, has to take their thumb out to answer a question and then goes right back to it.

I have noticed that the more stress I put on them, the more likely they are to suck on their thumb. I love taking my top performers and challenging them to go to the next level. When I do that with my honors gal, she typically nails the question but that thumb gets worked pretty hard too.

5. ku_alum

ku_alum Aficionado

Mar 27, 2009

Interesting.

I guess it isn't a huge deal in the grand scheme of things (except it could be spreading germs).

But, I'm not sure real world (like on the job ... or at a job interview [high stress]) it would be accepted.

For that reason, I might try to figure out how to help her find a more acceptable stress response.

6. Muttling