the rollercoaster that is kindergarten...

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by teacherhoosier, Sep 24, 2010.

1. teacherhoosier

teacherhoosier Companion

Sep 24, 2010

Part of the joys and frustrations of a kindergarten are the up and down days you have..Take my week for instance-Monday was a great day, had a sub on Tuesday, and when I came back, the rest of the week has been a struggle..not horrible, but not what I've seen from them before..It's my first year teaching k, and switching from a being a math lab aide in a 7th grade classroom to kindergarten has been an adjustment to say the least..I struggle daily asking myself if what I expect from them is too high for them to reach..my principal and literacy coordinator say I am doing a good job and have come a long way since school started in implementing the balanced literacy program my district has and in discipline, but I still wonder if I'm making the right decisions-I guess the worrier in me is coming out..:confused:

3. DrivingPigeon

DrivingPigeon Phenom

Sep 24, 2010

I think it's normal to question what you're doing. If others are supporting you, I'm sure you're doing great. :)

My kids were fantastic the past few weeks, but they were little wiggly worms this week. We hardly accomplished anything!

4. backtoK

backtoK Rookie

Sep 24, 2010

The first 6-10 weeks are the hardest part of teaching K. I usually question myself as to why I want to do this. Once they get rolling (usually late October, early Nov.) I really do enjoy it.
    Hang in there. Keep doing what your doing and remember that you are not alone.

Last edited: Sep 24, 2010
  5. MzMooreTeaches

MzMooreTeaches Cohort

Sep 24, 2010

I worry constantly too. Sometimes I feel like im not doing enough and that I'm pushing the kids to hard or to little... My week was a roller coaster as well. But I think I have figured out something that will work for my prek/k combination class.