Thanksgiving Theme...What's appropriate and what isn't???

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by cml88, Oct 30, 2012.

1. cml88

cml88 Companion

Oct 30, 2012

Ok so this is my first year teaching K and I need to know what is appropriate for this theme. I've recently downloaded an awesome thanksgiving pack from one of my favorites bloggers and realized the term "indian" is everywhere in it. Do classroom teachers still use the term pilgrims and Indians...or is it more accepted to say Native Americans? Also...we will be having a thanksgiving luncheon arranged by some of our parents. I remember doing this back when I was in kindergarten. We got to choose if we wanted to be a pilgrim or Indian and then make the appropriate headpiece (pilgrim hat or native american head piece). However, last year when I was teaching pre-k in a different school, I was going to do this and my principal was horrified. She explained that making headpieces is entirely inappropriate, and uncharacteristic of the Native American culture. I feel so confused and don't want to step on anybodies toes. I UNDERSTAND that we need to be politically correct, but also it's important to remember these little ones are still in K! They should only be learning about the basics of pilgrims/indians & should be having fun while doing so. ANYWAYS....Thoughts and ideas are greatly appreciated!!!

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Oct 30, 2012

4. lucybelle

lucybelle Connoisseur

Oct 30, 2012

One of my good friends is Native American and she HATES that head dresses are associated with Native Americans.

I like the idea of beads.

5. MissCeliaB

MissCeliaB Fanatic

Oct 30, 2012