Team planning

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by Shananigens, Jul 26, 2015.

1. Shananigens

Shananigens Rookie

Jul 26, 2015

Myself and another person just got hired as two new preschool teachers each with our own class. She wants us to plan together which I am totally up for....but she wants us to have the exact same lesson plans. I more so wanted us to figure out the same themes to do, sequence of letters, share resources etc. Any suggestions on what to do?

3. katsmeoow

katsmeoow Rookie

Jul 27, 2015

beg barrow and steal you can always jazz up a lesson plan with your own flare. My question is are there any other pk teachers and are they willing to work together and share. They would know more of the supplies and resources. Keep us up to date please

4. Shananigens

Shananigens Rookie

Jul 27, 2015

We are the only two and we are both brand new to the school. She has only been an aide in preschool and I have been teaching K and pre-k for the past 5 years. We are teaching at a catholic school and the program is new. My principle has let us made a wish list of things we like in our room but we are pretty much getting very basic materials. I am lucky enough to have built up a collection of things or being able to use my own kids things that they don't use. We can't get into the building for a couple more weeks yet so I really won't know what is available till then. She wanted to do a theme a month I wanted to do a new one every week. We ended up compromising with every two weeks. She also wants to have all lesson plans done a month in advance which seems nice but I know it's not likely to happen. Personally I know I am a procrastinator and I can crank out lesson plans fairly quickly under pressure. We'll see how it goes....

5. scmom

scmom Enthusiast

Jul 27, 2015

I do a general schedule for the year of what I want to cover skill-wise so I get to all the standards and things I want to cover, but I can't imagine doing real lesson plans that far in advance.