Teaching summary writing

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by Rockguykev, Aug 4, 2009.

1. Rockguykev

Rockguykev Connoisseur

Aug 4, 2009

This will be year 5 of attempting to teach summary writing to middle schoolers for me. I've tried a ton of different methods. I thought I really liked the IVF method from Step Up to Writing but my kids hated it. I thought I'd like the simple 1-2-3 method but I found it was a ton of work for me and not much benefit to them.

We do not have a set summary method in our English department but as an AVID teacher I need my kids to learn the process. I don't know how to explain it because I don't know how I learned it. I just kind of do it. A colleague and I are thinking about doing it multiple choice style this year, at least for awhile.

At the end of class we'll offer 4 possible summary options for the day's material. Students will select the one they think fits best (this is how summary writing is tested on our state tests in Cali) and we'll discuss it as a class. This will again be a ton of work for me to write summaries for each day but if I think it will work (I'm not sold yet) I'm willing to put in the time.

Soooooo, too long; didn't read version:

How can I teach summary writing to middle school kids?

3. Mrs. K.

Mrs. K. Enthusiast

Aug 4, 2009

4. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Aug 5, 2009

Great link, Mrs. K. Thanks!

5. carlea

carlea Comrade

Aug 5, 2009

Try Emily Kissner's book Summarizing, Paraphrasing, and Retelling. This is the book I'll be using to teach summary.

It breaks down summarizing into manageable parts, starting with finding the main idea & building up. She also explains how students write about what they think is important (what's interesting to them) and how to help them find what's important to the author. Of course there's much more in the book!

Last edited: Aug 5, 2009
  6. bandnerdtx

bandnerdtx Aficionado

Aug 5, 2009

Here's a quick strategy called GIST: