teaching in two different school districts @ same time

Discussion in 'General Education' started by bholm83, Jun 10, 2018.

1. bholm83

bholm83 Rookie

Jun 10, 2018

I work Full-time in a school district in WA, and Part-time (considered adjunct employee) in an online school in WA (strictly online). I got an email today from the director of HR for my school district, saying I'm violating state law by being under contract in 2 different school districts in the state. I'm willing to give up my PT online teaching job if I am indeed in violation and will talk to my union rep to clarify. I honestly had no idea there was a law like this, and while it makes logical sense, I feel like there is (or should be )some wiggle room when you teach part time online...

The law states I can't be under contract in 2 districts: ...."No contract shall be offered by any board for the employment of any employee who has previously signed an employment contract for that same term in another school district of the state of Washington "

S
    o while it seems straight forward that I need to terminate my employment with the online school, do you think there is any wiggle room here because while I'm employed by 2 districts in the same state, 1 of the disctricts I only teach part-time and it doesn't interfere with my current duties in the other district. Also, the language around 'same term' has me confused because I'm full-time in one and part-time in the online school.

I'm sure this issue has come up before, so am curious if anyone has been in a similar predicament. I've worked in this online school for almost 2 years and just now got notice about it, which is strange.

PS - looking online at the RCW law (http://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=28A.405.210), it looks like this may not apply to provisional employees (of which I am) "This section shall not be applicable to "provisional employees"

Appreciate the help!

Last edited: Jun 10, 2018
  3. mathmagic

mathmagic Enthusiast