Teaching Conspiracy Theories - help!!!

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by spbarnes, Jan 11, 2017.

1. spbarnes

spbarnes New Member

Jan 11, 2017

So, I have one 50 minute block where I essentially can teach whatever I want to 8th graders (9 week class). This is also supposed to be a more relaxed class for the students....I'm a history teacher so, I chose to teach about conspiracy theories. But I am struggling coming up with enough material to teach each day.

My initial plan was this - Cover a new conspiracy theory each week...
    Monday - Present brief information on historical event, then present conspiracy theory
    Tuesday- cover conspiracy theory in full, watch a video, take some note, read articles, research...
    Wednesday- Research/ Notes on what the mainstream media says
    Thursday- play devils advocate on the theory vs. what main stream media said happened...
    Friday - Students write their opinion and turn in their stance on if they believe the theory or not, using facts and notes from videos and lecture

I am struggling to find resources and just with the concept in general. I love conspiracy theories but I'm not sure my plan is strong/ well thought out.

Should I jump ship and teach something like leadership?

3. MetalTeacher

MetalTeacher Rookie

Jan 11, 2017

I think this sounds doable. There's definitely enough conspiracy theories to last nine weeks, and you could work in a lot about how to evaluate media messages and stuff like that.

My only worry would be stepping on peoples' toes politically, so you'd have to be careful regarding which conspiracy theories you picked. Probably focusing on things far enough in the past not to get people too angry.

4. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Jan 11, 2017