Teachers who hyperfocus

Discussion in 'General Education' started by bdomogala, Sep 7, 2017.

1. bdomogala

bdomogala New Member

Sep 7, 2017

I am a graduate student seeking to become a high school or middle school math teacher. Regardless of the level of the students I'm working with, I find myself hyper-focusing on one student as I work with that student. This leads me to lose awareness of the rest of what's happening in the other students in the class.

For example, I will be helping one student to graph a line and be completely oblivious to anything else that is happening at that moment. A student across the room could throw an eraser across the room and I wouldn't notice it at all. This also applies to auditory input, as students would have off-topic conversations and I wouldn't hear them at all.

I've tried looking up every few seconds, but then I focus on looking up instead of actually helping the student I'm working with.

I have ADHD but I am trying to avoid becoming medicated if there is a way to help change this hyper-focus without it. What else can I try to alter my awareness focus to become a better teacher?

3. ms.irene

ms.irene Groupie

Sep 7, 2017

I do this to some extent as well (never diagnosed ADHD but with anxiety). I have gotten better over the years. You have to train yourself to "scan" and to try to make eye contact with everyone in the room. You also have to learn to stop and listen in on side conversations. Most importantly, you have to generally train yourself to "never turn your back on the ocean" (ie, never face away from the group). It takes training, but you can improve!

4. Linguist92021

Linguist92021 Phenom

Sep 7, 2017