Teachers, do you grade homework at home?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by pohkid, Jun 25, 2013.

1. pohkid

pohkid New Member

Jun 25, 2013

Hi,

I just became a teacher and really want to know what teachers usually do when it comes to grading homework. Should we bring homework home and grade it when we're off, or should we just do it when we're at work at school? Thanks!

3. bella84

bella84 Connoisseur

Jun 25, 2013

I never found the time to grade it at school when I was a classroom teacher.... at least not during the actual hours of the school day. And, not if I wanted to pull small groups during independent work times. It was the expectation of my administration that grading only be done during plan time or before/after school, and I always had other things needing done during plan time.

4. BumbleB

BumbleB Habitué

Jun 25, 2013

It all depends. If I have time to do it during my planning period, I do. Usually I don't. My planning period is usually taken up by meetings, last-minute paperwork and/or individual student issues. Therefore, if I'm grading the homework, I take it home. It's not that bad.

There are ways to avoid bringing homework home. Kids love to "trade and grade" in class. Some teachers do not grade the majority of homework, because they believe it's unfair to grade on the learning process and not mastery of material (unless you assign the homework to show mastery rather than practice). I'm not fully on the "no grades" train, but there are some assignments that I just look over (to see what they're getting and what they're not) and then recycle.

5. platypusok

platypusok Companion

Jun 25, 2013

I think I bought papers home to grade once last year. And that's because I was gone with my extracurriculars I sponsor three days that week and was behind in grading.

I just don't bring them home because I hate to grade and I don't want to do it at home. I'll do anything else (work on lessons, etc) but not grade.