Tastes Like More!

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Xerographica, Mar 14, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Xerographica

Xerographica Rookie

Mar 14, 2017

I'm not technically a teacher. But my friend is and we just got off the phone. She teaches 4th grade and too few of her students have a passion for reading. Ideally, all of her students should really love to read.

Her standard approach is for all the students to read the same book at the same time. Then they can have enjoyable and insightful discussions with each other about the book. Of course the students are encouraged to read any additional books that they are interested in.

My issue with her approach is that some of the books that she chooses for the class to read aren't necessarily books that I personally would have truly enjoyed reading in the 4th grade... or any grade. A student reading a book that they dislike, or only moderately like, has a very high opportunity cost. It uses up time that they could have used to read a book that they super loved. Plus, reading becomes more of a chore than a pleasure. Students should thoroughly understand that reading doesn't always have to be work!

If I was technically a teacher then my approach would be to introduce the students to the widest possible variety of the very best books. What's a good analogy? I never know. All I can ever think of is bad analogies. If you go fishing and want to catch the widest variety of fish, then you have to cast a really wide net or use the widest variety of bait.