Talking

Discussion in 'First Grade' started by LovetoteachPREK, Aug 25, 2014.

1. LovetoteachPREK

LovetoteachPREK Companion

Aug 25, 2014

Hi all! We're in our second week of school and I've got a really sweet group of 20 first graders, but the talking is relentless. I'm trying Responsive Classroom and Love and Logic, but it just seems like it is taking too long. I've gone over procedures, we've repeated them when they don't go as they should and so on. I am new to the school this year, and special teachers who know them come in and get them quiet right away by yelling at them and taking away recess. They say I'm being too nice.

So I'm torn. Am I being too nice? I am trying to rephrase rules positively, recognize good behavior and use logical consequences.

Also, what are your thoughts on talking during independent work time? I feel like if I can get them to be quiet during instruction, then they should be able to talk quietly while they work, but maybe this is confusing for them.

Ideas please!!!

3. MissScrimmage

MissScrimmage Aficionado

Aug 25, 2014

It's hard to say without actually observing your classroom. If you are okay with them talking quietly while they are working and they actually are working then you don't have a problem.

One way I trained grade 1s to work quietly is to use a timer. I say "No talking for 1 minute". We review that means not asking someone else for supplies, etc. I set the timer and expect silence for that 1 minute. If anyone talks, I start the timer again for the whole class. After 1 minute of silence we do a quick (i.e. 10 second) brain break and then everyone gets back to work. The next time I ask for silence it will be for 2 minutes. I gradually increase the increments until they can go about 7-10 minutes. They are only 6 so I try not to make the silence last too long. But 7-10 minutes is enough time for them to get a good start or even finish their task.

4. TamiJ

TamiJ Virtuoso

Aug 25, 2014