Taking over the classroom of a lazy, pushy teacher

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by Passion4PreK5, Jul 16, 2018.

1. Passion4PreK5

Passion4PreK5 Rookie

Jul 16, 2018

Hi there! Here is a bit of background: I graduated in December 2017 and have been working at a school (where I student taught) as the permanent substitute since January. In April, I interviewed and was hired as the new bilingual teacher for the Fall. I will be taking over the classroom of one of the former teachers who will now be working for our school as a special ed resource teacher and will therefore not have a classroom anymore. This teacher has been working at this school and in this classroom for the last 9 years, so she has accumulated a lot of materials...and junk over time. I have been going in and trying to get things organized a bit but it has been really hard since the majority of her things are still in the classroom. Today, this teacher came in while I was working. Earlier that day I had cleared out about 5 shelves that had been full of board games and puzzles (many of which are too advanced for my students). When she came in she told me that she can't take all of these things with her, so I would have to find a place to store them. All of the cabinets in the classroom are also full of her things, and I know that she is not planning of clearing them out before she leaves. As a new teacher this is very frustrating. I want all of her things gone in order to make room for the things that I will actually be using. And it isn't like I can give away or throw out the things I don't want because this teacher will technically still be working at our school. So I know she is going to want to come in and take her stuff to use whenever she needs it. I'm left feeling stuck with an unorganized room full of junk with no space to put my own things. (I'd also like to add that this teacher can be very rude and she was making backhanded comments about what I had started to do to make space in the cla