Submit Resume by Email, SnailMail or by Hand?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by NittanyLioness, Feb 14, 2009.

1. NittanyLioness

NittanyLioness Rookie

Feb 14, 2009

Hi Guys,

I'm a grad student getting certified in Elementary Special Ed/General Ed and am starting to look for Teaching Assistant positions for next year to gain experience. What is the best approach for submitting resumes? I was thinking of personally bringing them into a few prime schools to hopefully make more of an impact. Is that too forward or even worth the time?

Thanks a bunch!

3. Suburban Gal

Suburban Gal (formerly Elizabeth) Banned

Feb 14, 2009

I'm going to be extremely blunt here.

I've been looking for a paraprofessional position now for a little over 2 months and have been coming up empty handed. Just finding jobs to apply for right now is difficult. And that's not just here, but across the country. Know that no matter how you approach this, you're in for an uphill battle.

It's also worth noting that many principals don't want to hire people like us (I say us because I'm a grad student too only I'm seeking a Master's in Secondary Education) because we lack experience. I'm finding that the vast majority of principals would rather hire someone who already has actual teacher certification versus someone who doesn't. Why? Apparently, they like having a hiring pool to choose from when teaching positions become available. In addition, certified individuals can apparently more in terms of also subbing, small group instruction, reading intervention, etc... . Not that people like us can't do those things either, but versatility the certification provides them with that better than it does without any certification whatsoever.

I'm NOT trying to scare you here, just telling you like it is.