Subjects and objects in sentences?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by 12tighnf, Jan 24, 2013.

1. 12tighnf

12tighnf New Member

Jan 24, 2013

Hello fellow teachers! I'm currently in my 2nd year of teaching and am having a bit of trouble coming up with an engaging lesson about subjects and objects in sentences. Last year, I defined each term and gave a few examples using simple sentences, eventually progressing to compound sentences. Unfortunately, my students didn't really grasp the concept (over half the class failed their hw assignment the following day). :(
    This year I want to really engage the class and make sure they learn this subject. Do any of you have any recomendations?

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Jan 24, 2013

It's not really an engaging topic...:sorry:

What grade is this?

4. 12tighnf

12tighnf New Member

Jan 24, 2013

If not engaging then how do you ensure it sticks?

I teach 2nd grade btw.

5. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Jan 24, 2013

Objects in grade 2? Is this your state curriculum?

6. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Jan 25, 2013

7. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Jan 25, 2013

Subject verb agreement is reasonable. Teaching kids to write interesting and varied sentences is as well. This can be done through shared writing, craft mini lessons, and close activities. I don't think it's appropriate to expect second graders to identify and label objects, passive vs active voice, though.

8. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Jan 25, 2013