Students Not Studying

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by jw12, Oct 13, 2013.

1. jw12

jw12 Rookie

Oct 13, 2013

Hi All... I'm at my wits end already this school year. I teach 4 low-level, general Biology classes (10th grade), one CP level Biology class (also 10th grade), and one CP Physical Science Class (9th Grade). I'm in my second year of teaching.

To make a long story short, my students are simply refusing to study. On test day, I have them write down how much time outside of class they spent studying for that test. The latest results: the average study time was less than 20 minutes. The average test grade, you ask? A whopping 56%.

I talk to them about the importance of studying. I show them statistics on how much studying can improve their grade. I remind them daily to be sure to study!!

Of the 4 low-level classes, I have a full-time special ed teacher in the room. She, like me, is simply out of ideas. There's no motivating these kids. And my CP kids are exactly the same. Calls and emails home have also had little to no effect.

My department chair and department principal don't have any suggestions either. I hate to give up and just say, "If they don't care, then I won't either." But honestly, it's getting to that point.

Any suggestions out there?? Thanks!

3. 2ndTimeAround

2ndTimeAround Phenom

Oct 13, 2013

I'm going through the exact same thing. Down to asking sped teachers and admin!

I decided that I am going to start giving homework every.single.night. I usually don't assign that much but they have to have some forced input else they won't do anything. And frankly, it is a bit of CYA for me. If they continue to do poorly and I've done everything under the sun and they don't do their part with the homework, then I simply cannot be to blame.

Thankfully, it is just my on-level students that are doing this. I don't know how I would feel if all the students were slacking off.

I hope you get some great suggestions because I'm in need too!