Student Looking for Advice

Discussion in 'General Education' started by ec2003, May 15, 2019.

1. ec2003

ec2003 New Member

May 15, 2019

Hi, I’m a 9th grade student taking Algebra 1 (NOT honors) and was looking for some advice from teachers themselves about my teacher. (skip past next paragraph if you don’t need a backstory~)

My math teacher is retiring this year, i’m not sure if she was always like this or not, but she’s terribly mean and harsh, I can’t remember a class where she hasn’t screamed at us. She goes annoyingly fast through the material, to the point that my other math teachers of my grade are still doing things we learned months ago.

Anyway, just recently (a month, maybe two ago) she claimed she “ran out of 9th grade material” and has begun teaching us Algebra 2 material. At my school, it goes Algebra 1, Geometry, then Algebra 2 in 11th grade. We’re getting worksheets that no one in my class understands, and she doesn’t provide much help. When I showed the homework to an 11th grade friend, he said that what we’re doing is more complex than anything he’s done all year, I got the same answer when asking a friend in honors Algebra 1.

Is there anyway I could make a complaint against her for going wildly off the curriculum? I just don’t feel it’s fair to me or my classmates as 9th graders to be taught 11th grade material, which no other 9th grade teacher is teaching.

Sorry for the lengthy post, and being a student in a teacher forum.. :)

3. Ms.Holyoke

Ms.Holyoke Connoisseur

May 15, 2019

You could ask your parent/guardian to contact the teacher and ask for a meeting with the teacher and an administrator.

4. ec2003

ec2003 New Member

May 15, 2019