Stress

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out Archives' started by Beth2004, Jul 22, 2007.

1. Beth2004

Beth2004 Maven

Jul 22, 2007

I've been so stressed the past few days. It's so bad that my stomach has actually been seriously upset for most of the day today. I was offered a job on Thursday, which is great, but I'm still a little nervous about that situation since I haven't signed a contract or anything official yet. After over 2 years of job searching it's hard to get excited until I know for sure that it's definitely mine.

On top of that, it's a job that I'm not technically licensed for so I'm nervous about taking the class and the test I need in order to become licensed by next May. It's registering for the class and completing it in time that's really got me worried.

Then, there's my current job situation. I went back to my old job (started in 1999) at an after school program for the summer, as I have every summer since graduating. I had told them I'd be there all summer, but now with this teaching position, professional development starts in 2 weeks and I won't be able to fulfill my commitment to them. My immediate supervisor understands because she always knew it was a possibility, but her bosses are giving me a really hard time and now they're taking away my supervisor's vacation because I won't be there to cover for her. As if I didn't feel bad enough as it was, now I feel incredibly guilty because she's losing her vacation.

Oh, and I almost forgot. I also have to call my principal from last year (private school) tomorrow to tell her that I won't be back in September. She knew I was job searching so it won't be a huge surprise, but I'm still a little nervous about calling to give her the news....especially when I haven't signed a contract yet!