STEM Project Ideas to do with Energy

Discussion in 'Middle School / Junior High' started by rpan, Mar 19, 2017.

1. rpan

rpan Comrade

Mar 19, 2017

I'm a middle school science teacher over in Australia and there is a strong push towards using STEM project based learning rather than conventional chalk and talk. I'm all for it, but a little bit stumped for ideas. I want students to be engaged but they need to meet the curriculum standards. I would like to start a project in a few months on Energy - the types of energy, how energy can be transferred or transformed. I have gotten my students to build Rube Goldberg machines before to show their understanding of the types of energy and how it can be changed into other types, but I was hoping if any Science teachers here could give me some ideas?

3. Obadiah

Obadiah Habitué

Mar 19, 2017

Rube Goldberg was the first thing that came to my mind, but when I clicked on your post, I saw that you've already used that. In third grade, (8-9 years old in U.S.), I also brought in a collected bag of scrap materials and had the students design toys that moved or made a sound. The project took most of the day time wise, but I was always amazed at their creations (and so were they). Sports provide some interesting investigations, such as bats hitting baseballs, basketballs bouncing, etc. A PBS program, Zoom, had an investigation on finding the best place on a bat to hit a baseball; it popped into my mind as I was writing this. pbskids.org/zoom/activities/sci/sweetspot.html