Starting on Step 1 of the Payscale

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by teachersk, Aug 2, 2012.

1. teachersk

teachersk Connoisseur

Aug 2, 2012

I just got a job with a great district. Everyone sings praises about this district! I am really excited. I was told that there were over 200 applicants for my position.

While I am grateful, I was a little bummed to find out that I will be starting on step 1 of the pay scale. They said that "this is how everyone starts out" in their district.

How is this possible? What if someone has been teaching for thirty years? Do they start THEM at step 1? That is crazy!

I will be making less this year than I did my first year teaching. Now, I have five years of experience, great references, and my M.Ed.!

I was just curious ... is the only reason they can do this because it's SO hard to find jobs right now? They know that if I "turned them down" they could go to the other 199 applicants for my job?

I am sooo grateful to have the position and am obviously not going anywhere, but taking such a huge pay cut is such a bummer!!!

3. JaimeMarie

JaimeMarie Moderator

Aug 2, 2012

That stinks. I was started on the step I should be started on. Did you look at the teacher contract that the union and school board agreed on?

4. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Aug 2, 2012

It's common practice in many places. I think that it's been done that way for a long time, even before these budget issues. It's a way for districts to save money, potentially tens or hundreds of thousands of dollars over the course of a single teacher's career.

If it's in the contract, then it is what it is and there's nothing you can do about it. I wish there were a better answer, but there's not.