Start out like 2nd graders, what to expect?

Discussion in 'Third Grade' started by MissaG, Jul 28, 2007.

1. MissaG

MissaG Companion

Jul 28, 2007

I don't have a lot of experience with the lower grades at all. I have taught 2 years in 5th and 6th grades. When people say that 3rd grade starts out like 2nd graders, what does this generally mean in terms of writing? Multiple sentences? Paragraph?

Also, I got a book of daily word problems for math, and the problems given for week 1 seem way to hard in my eyes. Ex: Mindy's candle is 5 inches long. Her candle takes 10 minutes to burn 1 inch. How long will her candle burn?

I guess I just have no idea what to expect and don't want to make things too easy, but want to make sure I am working on their level. I have checked out the standards for 2nd, but I want real examples of what to expect.

3. cmarie

cmarie Rookie

Jul 28, 2007

I am new to third grade this year also. The example of the word problem you posted does seem a little difficult at this point in my opinion. I have been reviewing the math curriculum I will be using and I have not come across a problem like that yet. Maybe some experienced 3rd grade teachers can give us some better input.

4. FarFromHome

FarFromHome Connoisseur

Jul 28, 2007

In my student teaching (2nd grade) they did math problems that were harder than that. I haven't started teaching 3rd yet, but I would think that problem would be fine.

5. anniefan

anniefan Rookie

Jul 28, 2007

I hope I can be some help. This is my 13th year in 3rd grade! Yes, they are very much like 2nd graders. I always have to remember that when I start the year. One big thing is notebook paper. Our 3rd graders use primary paper in 2nd. I have to teach them what side the holes go on, how to head a paper, and that they must write smaller. I use a big chart that looks like notebook paper and a transparency.