Staff orientation the first day?

Discussion in 'Second Grade' started by Momma5, Aug 5, 2012.

1. Momma5

Momma5 Rookie

Aug 5, 2012

Just curious if your school has this and what goes on? It's my first year teaching and it's at a private school. I ST at a public, so the curriculum is totally different. Literacy is taught using a basal (sp) reader and there is no leveled library like in public school. Math is different too.The principal did not go over the curriculum during the interview but did let me take home all the teacher manuels. I planned on reviewing them all this month and writing lessons. Is it a good idea to prepare all my lessons for the first 2 weeks or so now? Will curriculum, how it should be taught, etc. be discussed during the orientation you think?

3. giraffe326

giraffe326 Virtuoso

Aug 5, 2012

We have a 6 hour staff meeting. Well, when you take out lunch, I guess it is 5 hours. 8-2 the first day, every year. My P goes over expectations, schedules, etc...

4. HistTchr

HistTchr Habitué

Aug 5, 2012

It will probably be mostly about school policies and procedures--more of a general introduction for all of the new teachers in the school. Good luck!

5. waterfall

waterfall Maven

Aug 5, 2012