spouses/SO

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by e6789, Aug 26, 2012.

1. e6789

e6789 Rookie

Aug 26, 2012

Seems like I have been annoyed with my bf all the time recently! I know it has something to do with how busy I've been, since I am a first year teacher.

Oldest story in the book--but it seems like he JUST DOESN'T get it! If I get up at 5am to make an hour drive to be there at 7am and don't get home until 6pm, don't you think he'd make the effort to CLEAN UP AFTER HIMSELF? This is what I'd what at the very least! Ideally, he would actually help me out by doing dishes, laundry, etc.

Important note--he does not, by any means, work long hours or have a demanding job. He gets to work between 6:30 and 7:00. He rarely gets 8 hours in, and could be home by 3:00-3:30. He is a maintenance man. I know some in this profession may be very busy; however, his job mainly consists of mowing 2 days a week, pool maintenance, and bs-ing with coworkers.

It's so ANNOYING because, while he says he does, he just doesn't understand how busy I am. I am working 7 days a week. I have a second job for extra money on the weekends, so I'm gone from 9:30-6:30 every Saturday and Sunday. It's not a difficult job, but when I am gone for 12 hours a day 5 days/week, all I want to do is spend a day relaxing at home, catching up on housework (since God knows he won't do it), and spend time doing what I'd like, for once.

When I try to mention it to him (in a nice tone), he gets defensive and snappy, so I just drop it. I feel like he's being so selfish and childish.

Does anyone else have these problems, or similar ones? If so, how can I deal with this, effectively?? I don't want to be annoyed with him all the time, because it just adds more stress to my life!

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Aug 26, 2012

It seems to me that this is the crux of the issue.