Spending Money on your Classroom

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Ms.Holyoke, Jun 3, 2018.

1. Ms.Holyoke

Ms.Holyoke Habitué

Jun 3, 2018

How much do you spend on classroom supplies every year?

I personally find it unfair that so many teachers spend their own money on their classrooms. (I'm already annoyed that I have to pay to get fingerprinted!) I am a first year teacher next year and I am hoping that my district has a classroom budget but I am still not sure.

I have watched teacher videos on YouTube and I was shocked at how much some teachers spent on their classrooms. I am personally happy to buy my own planner, sticky notes, pens, etc. since I like certain types/colors. But I definitely don't want to end up paying for my students' supplies, whiteboard markers, a stapler, hole puncher, tape, glue, etc. I'm working in a low income school so I'm not sure how many supplies my kids will bring. As a first year teacher, I know there are probably organizational things I will have to buy like trays for organizing my supplies, trays for organizing copies, turn in bins, etc. I also see decorating the classroom as an expense because I need bulletin board borders, posters, letters, etc. I would also like to laminate things that I put up, but I would likely have to buy a laminator! I know that middle school teachers don't have to buy as many things as elementary teachers but it's still overwhelming!

It also seems like my school doesn't have a curriculum for teachers. As a new teacher, I don't want to be making my own resources every day. That's what I did for my student teaching and it wasn't sustainable. My mentor teacher suggested that I start with Engage NY, but in my student teaching I found that I really didn't like Engage NY. I'm worried that I'll end up having to spend $$ on teacherspayteachers and other curricular resources. I would be annoyed if I had to buy my own textbook but I really don't think I can make my own materials all year.