spelling & vocab homework?

Discussion in 'Second Grade' started by rfteacher, Aug 23, 2009.

1. rfteacher

rfteacher Rookie

Aug 23, 2009

I'm new to 2nd grade. We have Open Court in in Los Angeles. The kids get 10 spelling words and 5 vocab words a week. What kind of nightly homework assignments do you give regarding spelling words? And vocab words? I appreciate your responses. Thanks a bunch.

3. gorgeouskid

gorgeouskid New Member

Aug 23, 2009

I also teach 2nd in Los Angeles and we use Open Court.

Monday- write each word 5x
    Tuesday- ABC order
    Wednesday- use each word in a sentence
    Thursday- word search and study for test
    Friday- have test signed and write each incorrectly spelled word 10x

I do the ten OC words, but don't always put the vocab words on their spelling list. Instead, I'll put high frequency words that I notice are spelled incorrectly in their writing on the list (ie- because, friend, teacher, etc.)

Units 1 & 2, I give 15 words. Units 3/4 I increase the number to 20 and by Unit 5, I give 25 words. Some teachers in my grade level give 25 words all year, but I feel that 25 is too much for second grade.

eta- I don't really give vocab homework as most kids don't have English speaking parents to help them at home. We do classroom activities instead.

4. janlee

janlee Devotee

Aug 23, 2009

rfteacher - I do not give vocabulary homework. For my spelling I give my students a choice of 8 activities of which they must do 3. They have a total of 12 phonetic words, 3 challenge phonetic words, and 5 Dolch Sight Words per week. The words and activity sheet are given out on Monday, as well as their spelling notebook. The activities are due on Friday morning. If activities are completed prior to Friday they can hand in their spelling notebook. I give the spelling test on Friday. In January, I give out a new activity sheet with more challenging activities. Here is a copy of the activity sheet for Sept. - Dec.

SPELLING ACTIVITIES FOR THE WEEK