Spelling Help for a 4th grader?

Discussion in 'Fourth Grade' started by dharmacupcake, Jul 17, 2014.

1. dharmacupcake

dharmacupcake Rookie

Jul 17, 2014

Hi all,

Apologies in advance for the novel! :lol:

I signed up a few minutes ago just so I could get some insight into this problem! My mom runs a tutoring center, and I started out helping her a few years back just here and there. Before I knew it, I had a student of my own! I've been tutoring her one on one for 3 years, and she'll be in the 4th grade in the Fall. She has greatly improved in almost all subjects for the most part now that she's found the right school for her. Really, there's only one thing that still worries me, and it's her spelling abilities. I have a feeling it's because she was moved around from school to school in her formative years, and didn't get a good base education in spelling rules, vowels, blends, etc.

But despite repeated corrections, being taught about vowel sounds, and learning about homophones, she still makes a lot of mistakes in her spelling. For example, I've seen her spell neighbor as nabor, dollar as doller, great as grate, take as tack, much as mutch, many as meany, mixing up hill/heel and fill/feel, and so on. Her spelling has gotten slightly better in some ways, but through these three years, she still makes mistakes like these. It definitely worries me that she's behind her classmates because of these simple spelling mistakes. She's made so much amazing progress, and I don't want her to fall behind again.