Special Ed Cert in NJ?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by CDOR79, Aug 9, 2018.

1. CDOR79

CDOR79 Comrade

Aug 9, 2018

If I have my degree in Elementary Ed K-5 and obtain a Teacher of Students with Disabilities Certificate, what grades does that allow me to be a Special Ed teacher for in NJ? Only grades K-5 or all grades, K-12?

How does it work for an ESL Certification?

3. vickilyn

vickilyn Virtuoso

Aug 9, 2018

You can only teach where you have subject/content certification, so K-6 in NJ (that is the designation for Elem. Ed. in NJ) If you earn a valid ESL Certification in NJ, you can teach SPED in that, if the need arises. However, most ESL students are not classified. The ESL certification is another 15 graduate credits, assuming that you have a standard certificate. If not, it is 21 credits.

4. CDOR79

CDOR79 Comrade

Aug 10, 2018

That’s what I thought...

Thanks for that info, Vicki!

5. vickilyn

vickilyn Virtuoso

Aug 10, 2018

If you are wanting to teach more SPED, you would be better off going for those MS Specialization certifications. You have to have 15 undergrad credits in the subject, but not stringent about order of level, so most people already have those credits in their undergrad degree. That only leaves passing the MS Praxis to add these to your certs. Now the TOSD cert has real clout and use, since by MS more students are identified and in need of a SPED teacher in these other certifications.

6. MissB123

MissB123 Rookie

Aug 12, 2018

I have my Elementary Ed/Early Childhood Ed and Special Ed in NJ I can only do Pre-k - 6 I believe with my special ed cert since I can only teach that in Gen Ed as well.

7. vickilyn

vickilyn Virtuoso

Aug 12, 2018

Define General Ed. please.

8. MissB123

MissB123 Rookie

Aug 12, 2018