Since when did a National CDA triumph an actual college degree? (rant)

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by Missus James, Apr 30, 2013.

1. Missus James

Missus James Rookie

Apr 30, 2013

Well, I am back to job searching again. My last job turned out to be a disaster. So I've been job hunting for over a month now. However, at job interviews, all potential employers tell me to my face that they won't hire me because I don't have a National CDA.

I have an associate's degree in early childhood education, I am almost finished with my bachelor's degree in early childhood education, I have a director's credential, a staff credential, and I have completed all of my DCF hours (I live in Florida, btw). Everyone looks at my experience and go 'ooo' and 'ahh', but they don't touch me because I don't have a National CDA. I know I am probably overqualified, but they say, "No, you're not overqualified. You just don't have a CDA."

I've tried getting a CDA, but it costs a lot of money. Who can cough up nearly 500 dollars (that doesn't even include the textbook you have to buy) and I am still a college student with tuition and other textbooks to purchase! Plus you have to be employed! On top of that, it's a long tedious process because there is paperwork and observations and you have to contact your previous employers for documentation of working over 400 hours in child care. So I feel like I am stuck between a rock and a hard place because of this CDA business?

I've already spent tens of thousands of dollars to get through college. Isn't that enough? I mean I guess I would understand if I got a degree in a completely different field and I am trying to get into the child care field. However, I have been in child care for nearly six years now and I have degrees in early childhood! So I know what I am doing!