Should I take the leap and become a teacher?

Discussion in 'Student & Preservice Teachers' started by mrsmalone, Jan 11, 2017.

1. mrsmalone

mrsmalone Rookie

Jan 11, 2017

Hey y'all! I just signed up today and I'm not actually a teacher (hope that doesn't get me kicked out), but I am considering making a career change to teaching. I currently work in a business role which is what I got my degree in. I graduated with my bachelors 3 years ago and have been working in this field almost 4 years. So here's what I am hoping to hear from you... advice on making the jump to teaching from business. I'll give you some background on how I ended up here...

When I first started college I wanted to get an English degree because everyone said to find something you love. I love English. Writing, grammar, linguistics, editing, literature, all of it. I've always been a bookworm and nerd and once I got to college I found my English classes absolutely thrilling. Then I became afraid that I couldn't be a teacher because I had been homeschooled most of my grade school life. I was terrified that I didn't know what I was getting into and that I would be terrible at it or wouldn't like it.

Enter the psychology / English double major. I thought this would give me a backup route where I could teach while I got a master's and become a personal counselor afterward. And then I began worrying about the pressures of bills and getting out on my own and didn't know if I'd be able to afford getting a master's anyway and was afraid I'd never find a job out of college.