Should I leave my MBA off my resume?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by UpperMidwest, Jan 7, 2017.

1. UpperMidwest

UpperMidwest Rookie

Jan 7, 2017

I have a BA and an MBA, and I am doing a career change to be a teacher (most likely a special ed teacher). I have been working as a paraprofessional in special education for 4 months and I want to have a job as a regular licensed teacher. Should I leave my MBA off when applying for teaching jobs in fields like special education? I am concerned that administration will think that I am not committed to education and that I'm just taking the job as a short-term gig until I switch fields.

3. 2ndTimeAround

2ndTimeAround Phenom

Jan 7, 2017

I don't know if it would make a difference in my district. You wouldn't get anymore money for having an MBA since it doesn't directly apply to sped. And our district is so desperate for sped teachers that they would be willing to risk hiring someone that might be short-term.

If it were me I'd leave it off of my resume. But if I had to fill out an application that requested my highest level of education, I'd include it.

UpperMidwest likes this.
  4. readingrules12

readingrules12 Fanatic

Jan 8, 2017

No, don't leave it off. It won't pay you any extra $$$ as they are not educational credits. It will show though that you have a master's degree and despite having a degree where you could make more $$$, you are choosing to teach. I have a business degree as well as education, and it was often complimented on during my interviews. It can only be positive to keep it on your resume.

UpperMidwest likes this.
  5. msleep

msleep Rookie

Jan 8, 2017

Almost all school districts have an online application that requires you list your education. If you leave it off of this application you could be fired for lying.