Science Lesson HELP! [Water Cycle]

Discussion in 'Fourth Grade' started by Hello.Mitra, Mar 5, 2009.

1. Hello.Mitra

Hello.Mitra Rookie

Mar 5, 2009

:help:

I am currently doing my service learning at the University of Central Florida and I am required to do my first lesson in science for fourth grade.

I was handed a Science handbook from Harcourt School Publishers, Florida Edition and thought this would be a piece of cake; however, I am completely lost!!!

I am doing Lesson 1 (What Is the Water Cycle?) of Chapter 8 (The Water Cycle) and do not know where to begin. Obviously I have had no experience with the teacher handbook, and am intimidated by all of the instructions.

There is an "Investigate Activity" that requires a demonstration of making salt and fresh water solutions, then leaving them out for a day to see what happens to them; however, I am supposed to teach the lesson in one day. Am I supposed to just leave this activity out and/or substitute it for another one?

I am also confused if I should have students read the sections before I come in, while I am in the classroom, or have them participate in Round Robin or Bump.

Basically, I would appreciate any instruction or guiding me through a teacher handbook for science.

Thank you, thank you, thank you!

3. Missy99

Missy99 Connoisseur

Mar 6, 2009

Forget the books (except to glean important info!).

And don't read the sections or have them read them aloud or silently. That will not capture or hold their interest. Get them involved!

When I taught the water cycle over the course of a few days, I had no idea that my students would retain nearly 100 percent that info after more than four months. I know they did because we had so much fun learning!

The first thing I did was to illustrate the cycle on the board for the kids, step by step (preciptiation, storage, evaporation, condensation, etc.) in a circle, so the kids could see it is a cycle.