Scheduling advice from experienced teachers to a new one!

Discussion in 'Fifth Grade' started by tlf3184, Jul 8, 2015.

1. tlf3184

tlf3184 New Member

Jul 8, 2015

Hello! New to A to Z!
    I just got hired as a 5th grade LA and Social Studies teacher! I currently have about 320 minutes of teaching per day. I would love some advice on scheduling and keeping things orderly.
    I am just wondering if anyone does specific things/activities each day? For example I did a long term sub position for 4th grade and every Monday they would do something in their reading notebook, practice writing skills, and make vocabulary notecards. Tuesday would be small group day. Wednesday they would do a Time For Kids magazine and quiz and a spelling/grammar lesson. Thursday would be writing and a SS project... I hope you get my point.
    As a sub for her I loved this because everyday was consistent and I knew what to expect. As a new teacher I think this would be a great way to stay organized and not feel like I'm making new lesson plans every single day. I would like the consistency and I feel like the kids would too. ANYWAY if anyone does this, seen a teacher do it, has any pros/cons, or could help me picture what this would be like please leave any sort of comment! Thanks in advanced, Taylor.

3. RainStorm

RainStorm Aficionado

Jul 8, 2015

I teach Science, Social Studies, and Technology. It is nice having a schedule to go by -- it helps you plan, and helps the students to know what is coming next.

First, what are your instructional minutes per day? I know, for example, that my district "suggests" that we teach LA for 390 minutes per week (or 78 minutes per day for 5th grade). For Science it is 150 minutes per week (or 30 minutes per day) and for Social Studies it is also 150 minutes per week (30 minutes per day.)