Rough 1st Year

Discussion in 'New Teachers Archives' started by BioTeacher, Nov 30, 2006.

1. BioTeacher

BioTeacher New Member

Nov 30, 2006

Hi, I am in my 1st year teaching biology and general science classes in an urban school. I lost my brother to leukemia 4 days before the beginning of the year and I am struggling with anxiety. I usually enjoy my biology classes but the general science class is last period and huge and I have trouble getting some of the students to keep working for the full hour and half block that I have them. They need work that is highly structured and divided into about 20 min increments but the book I work from is the complete opposite. It gives assignments that require students to have a great deal of self control and self motivation. I am exhausted by having to make up supplemental worksheets and activities for them. I have looked on the book's supplemental but there aren't any supplemental materials there. I spend so much time making worksheets etc that I fall behind in grading in all classes. It has been about 3 months now since my brother died and it is getting harder for me to keep going.

3. grade1teacher

grade1teacher Companion

Nov 30, 2006

I am so sorry about your loss. It must be so difficult to deal with that pain and also keep up with a huge adjustment: your first year of teaching!
    Honestly, I don't have any experience with older grades, so I cant give you expert advice. But one thing is for certain - you must make time for yourself - to grieve, to relax, to feel like a person. You need it, and deserve it.
    Maybe you can give specifics on what grade you teach, and content - others might be able to give you advice on materials etc..
    I wish you the best!

4. ozteach

ozteach Comrade

Nov 30, 2006

I lost my brother too, about six months ago.