RICA Passed the First Time with No Prior Reading Teaching Experience

Discussion in 'Other Tests' started by Christine Chan, Dec 13, 2017.

1. Christine Chan

Christine Chan New Member

Dec 13, 2017

Hello all,

I just found out I passed the RICA on the first try!
    I want to give any advice I have obtained because I am thankful for this forum when I was seeking advice.

Just some background: I do not have any prior reading teaching experience and I have not taken any of my teaching credential classes yet.

I only studied from the Ready for Revised RICA by James Zarillo and watching the Chris Boosalis Teaching Reading videos on Youtube.
    I would also suggest taking the practice tests on the website and practice typing out the essay prompts ( may be very time consuming, but very useful for me).
    I studied for about 3 weeks after work, and it was stressful but I passed with all +++ and ++++ on all the categories.

Let me know if you have any questions because I know how stressful and nerve-wracking it can be! I read how many people had to re-take the test that I couldn’t even sleep the night before!

Good luck to all!!!!! : )

3. futuremathsprof

futuremathsprof Aficionado

Dec 14, 2017

Well done!!! I’ve read other posts where aspiring teachers claimed you *had* to have prior teaching experience to pass these tests and you provided a counterexample to that. And you only studied for 3 weeks, not months and months. Wow! See everyone, it CAN be done. Once again, congratulations!

Edit: If you haven’t done so already, I would take the CBEST and CSETs for your subject area to get those done with and then you can just focus on your teaching credential. :)

4. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Dec 14, 2017

Congratulations, Christine Chan!