recess/nap time

Discussion in 'Early Childhood Education Archives' started by k5202, Jul 17, 2004.

1. k5202

k5202 Rookie

Jul 17, 2004

I have been teaching kindergarten for 6 years. There have been many changes since I first began teaching K. I would like to know if other school systems have also implemented any of these changes and what teachers think of them.

For ex: Students are no longer allowed a nap time.
    We no longer are allowed a recess. Our curriculum is so
    stretched we are told there isn't time for it. Students do get P.E.,
    however last year Kindergartners did not go to P.E. until 2:25.
    We are a full day program 8:10-3:10 and kindergatners stay all day
    beginning the first week of school which begins on a Monday. When
    I first began teaching the students came for half-days for the first 2
    weeks.

I would like your opinions and your own experiences with such routines and structures. My opinion is they (school board educators and administrators) have totally forgotten that these children are just 5 years old and are not considering their developmental needs.

3. clarnet73

clarnet73 Moderator

Jul 18, 2004

Do the other grades in your school get recess? If so, what's the rationale for K's not getting it? Can you at least do an active game or something midway thruogh the morning to get them up and going? Do they have recess opposite lunch?

Most of the schools in my area only do half-day K programs... although I'm interviewing at a school on Tuesday that offers both full-day and half-day, which I find interesting.

4. Margo

Margo Devotee

Jul 18, 2004