Really upset about a bad decision I made. Don't know what to do.

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by flateacher, Oct 11, 2017.

1. flateacher

flateacher Rookie

Oct 11, 2017

I am new to teaching high school (9th) after many years at the elementary level. I made a really stupid decision and I am really having a hard time. I am the class sponsor and I let a student take a silly picture of me in white sunglasses that are "clout" glasses--still not 100% sure what this means--I thought it meant fame/respect. I have a feeling this is making its way on student social media--no confirmation but I don't know--I just kind of feel it. My daughter is in the grade above and she has not said anything to me. I am not telling her bc she will probably die of embarrassment. I just am really mad at myself--I should not have done that--I really don't know what I was thinking. I thought it was something innocent/fun...ugh. If this is going around, is there anything I can even do?? I go home every night so mad at myself and so anxious. Did I just ruin my year/career?

3. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Oct 11, 2017

If it's out there, there's nothing you can do about it at this point. I would tell my administrator--a principal I have utmost respect for always told the staff that he would rather hear about any "missteps" from us first before he found out another way. I'm not sure of any meaning behind the glasses; that fad hasn't made it's way here. As a word of advice, if the need to take "silly" pictures arises, be sure that it is something you plan, not something that the students come to you with.

4. MissCeliaB

MissCeliaB Aficionado

Oct 11, 2017