Really cool "Get to know you" exercises

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by firemaple, Nov 22, 2007.

1. firemaple

firemaple Companion

Nov 22, 2007

I'm a new English teacher starting next week. I just wanted to pick everyone's brain to see what ideas there are out there.

The class contains students from 9-12 grades (Dept. of Juv. Justice).

I plan on introducing myself and then having the students introduce themselves. Then I thought about pairing them and having them interview each other and then stand up and introduce the person they interviewed.

Finally, I thought I might give a writing assignment with a "introductory" type question. Such as, "If you could be an animal, what would it be and why" ?

These are just preliminary ideas. I'm open to suggestions. :)

3. silverspoon65

silverspoon65 Enthusiast

Nov 23, 2007

If you PM me with your email, I can send you a whole packet that I did for a workshop awhile ago.

4. KDS

KDS Companion

Nov 25, 2007

i would love the packet as well

i always took attendance each day by asking the question of the day. i only wanted a simple answer (so no "Why? portion...but sometimes used them later in journal/essays) to get kids used to talking. I would start with "Whats your favorite color?" and then a new one each day.
    (ie: What type of movie do you like? Dislike?....i also had theme weeks for holidays...Who would you want to be your Valentine? all sorts of good stuff...but trust me...toward the end of the year...the questions were silly...)

I did have the kids keep the list of QoDay's too. That way they could exchange ideas when i wanted them to introduce each other to class etc.

5. firemaple

firemaple Companion

Nov 25, 2007

I received the packed from SilverSpoon and it's awesome. I hope Silverspoon doesn't me bragging on her, but the packet she developed has some great stuff. I love the toilet paper idea and will be using it on my first day in the class on Monday.