Reading Program Set Up...

Discussion in 'Fifth Grade' started by BreezyGirl, Jul 23, 2015.

1. BreezyGirl

BreezyGirl Companion

Jul 23, 2015

This is my first time with my own class. Excited!

I'm working on my yearly LA overview. I know what and how I will address the oral and writing portion. This is more a question about the many reading set ups out there.

Here is my plan...

Silent Reading:
    I have always had reservations about sustained silent reading just to have the kids read for 30 minutes a day. Most classrooms I subbed in did this after lunch and it was more of a quiet time. I never saw the benefit as kids would wander, talk, just sit there. I am thinking I am going do the required 30 minutes of silent reading (it is in our provinces objectives) but turn it into a Reader's Workshop. That way they have their reading but now it serves a purpose: mini lesson on a skill/strategy and a few times a week a quick written assignment done in a notebook.

Classroom Library:
    I'm coming into a room with almost no books. And what's there is dated. I scored 50 books which I'm excited about! I will continue to look for all kinds. But for now I am thinking of creating a library with all levels: grades 3-7 as long as the interest levels fall into the 5/6 category. I'm not going to level the books but rather will keep track of who is reading what during Readers Workshop. Then I can assess the students and make suggestions on books if they are at too high or too low of a level. My outcome is to have kids enjoying the books without too many rules. However... I do have books like The Weather Fairies that I wouldn't want being used for the workshop. I was thinking I could put a little red circle sticker on those types and explain that these are no goes for the workshop. Of course I would give a good explanation as to why and depending on reading levels some may be able to use them.

Novel Studies: