Questions about my resume

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Unetheladyteacher, Jul 11, 2018.

1. Unetheladyteacher

Unetheladyteacher Rookie

Jul 11, 2018

New user here hoping for some advice after a very long year!

I very recently resigned from an ESL teaching position I had in the US for the last three years because I felt that I was going to get fired. Turns out I was right and the district said they would have fired me had I not resigned due to a poor evaluation.

I have been in some sort of teaching capacity since 2011, so for about seven years. I have almost four years of full-time teaching experience as an ESL teacher and three years of teaching experience as a substitute teacher. My full-time teaching experience includes work at four different schools: two schools overseas for about eight months, one school in New York state for a leave replacement position, and one in another part of the state for almost three years. Most of the schools I have worked at, except for the ones overseas, were high needs Title I schools with very diverse student populations. My most recent school was a public school, but because it was near a military base with no school on base, I taught mostly students from the military base. It is not a military school, so I have not taught at a military school.

I have applied to some jobs and have not heard back. I have a master's degree in English teaching with an add-on certificate for ESL. I am permanently certified to teach K-12 ESL, 5-9 English, and 7-12 English in NY. I am bilingual (Farsi/English) with a passing knowledge of French and enough knowledge of Spanish that I can understand what people say (for the most part). I cannot be a Spanish translator or do anything other than casually communicate with Spanish-speaking families.