Question on teacher behavior

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Sine Sinusoidal, Apr 2, 2019.

1. Sine Sinusoidal

Sine Sinusoidal Rookie

Apr 2, 2019

Is there a code of conduct for how teachers should act around teens? Not the typical code of conduct. I think things have changed since I was in school. However, where is the line drawn with teachers? What’s considered compassion and what’s considered too far?

I had a teacher say she loved me when I was a student but I don’t think I’d be comfortable saying that.

I had a teacher tell me I was special and that we had a special bond. Now days I think that could be considered grooming.

What if a student is always in your class before or after school? Almost daily. How do you handle that?

What gifts are you allowed to take from a student? How do you say no without hurting them?

Also, I have seen some odd behavior with other teachers. I’m not sure if it’s normal or not and I don’t want to be a whistleblower if it’s innocent.

I don’t want to be cold as a teacher but I don’t want to send the wrong message.

3. Backroads

Backroads Aficionado

Apr 2, 2019

I personally err toward professional. I'm not your friend, I'm not your parental figure anymore than the nature of 1st grade causes, I'm not your kindred mentor. I'm your teacher.

That said, I think there are many close relationships that can still occur in that professional realm. I remember hanging out in a few teachers' classrooms before/afterschool. I wasn't even particularly close to them. They were just cool, nice teachers and we had fun hanging out in their classrooms. I'm not sure exactly where the line is, but I think many can spot when someone has crossed the line.