Prizes for 6th graders?

Discussion in 'Middle School / Junior High' started by dmbfan36, Aug 20, 2009.

1. dmbfan36

dmbfan36 Rookie

Aug 20, 2009

This is my first year teaching 6th graders. The other 6th grade teacher does raffles with tickets and gives them small prizes etc. I decided to adopt this idea as well. I just bought a roll of tickets.
    So I guess my question is this - what kind of small prizes might you give?

Also I have one section of 7th graders. Is this too young for them or should I do this for all classes?

I have things like mini gel pens, stickers, no HW passes (not sure how I feel about this though).

3. TennisPlayer

TennisPlayer Cohort

Aug 20, 2009

Maybe look at Oriental Trading Company online...they have a lot of little things!

4. Limegirl

Limegirl Rookie

Aug 20, 2009

I'm doing a similiar thing with my 8th grade class except I'm using Monopoly money. I plan on going to the dollar store to buy little fun things similiar to the pens. Maybe crossword puzzles or journals, things like that.

5. teachin4ever

teachin4ever Cohort

Aug 20, 2009

Here are a few I've used:

jolly ranchers
    suckers
    no homework pass
    sit next to a friend for the day
    bouncy balls
    pencils
    sit in the papasan (or bean bag or whatever) for the day
    choose partner to work with when doing partner work

6. Groovy

Groovy Companion

Aug 20, 2009

What is important to them at this age? Status, and food.

I would go with Airheads (the candy) and sitting in the teacher's chair for a day, or half day. Maybe 5 extra minutes at lunch or recess (if you have that.)

Kids like power. They like to be the one to choose... where to sit? who they sit by? what math game to play? who goes first?

Homework passes are not good, because they're used to get out of doing the subject they need most, usually.

7. flowerpower31

flowerpower31 Comrade

Aug 20, 2009

^^^this...they love that stuff.