Preschool Open House

Discussion in 'Early Childhood Education Archives' started by preschoolgal, Aug 2, 2006.

1. preschoolgal

preschoolgal Rookie

Aug 2, 2006

Hi everyone! I am new to this site and I was wondering if someone would be able to help me! I have been teaching preschool for a little over 2 years now and I am getting ready to embark on a new adventure at a brand new preschool. We are having an open house in the next coming weeks and it is the Friday before school begins. Does anyone have any ideas or suggestions? I really don't want the children running wildly around the room and I want to get the parents involved as well. Please help! Thanks in advance!:thanks:

3. dragonfly

dragonfly Rookie

Aug 2, 2006

If the environment dictates the tone of behaviors, I would recommend having many activities available that encourage small group interactions, i.e. playdoh table w/ 2-4 seats, beading necklaces, magnifiying glasses and something interesting to look at (have paper and pencils available for children to draw what they see), clear contact paper taped to a table upside down so children can stick colored tissue paper to it to create a group collage (stuck to a window when done it looks like stained glass!), block building, maybe with classical music playing in the back ground. Good luck!

4. preschoolgal

preschoolgal Rookie

Aug 2, 2006