Praxis PLT, 7-12 (5624) Practice Tests

Discussion in 'Other Tests' started by RSA1984, Jun 7, 2018.

1. RSA1984

RSA1984 Rookie

Jun 7, 2018

Hi all,

I'm getting ready to take the Praxis PLT (7-12) next Wednesday and I've utilized the Kaplan study guide, as well as watching a handful of YouTube videos for clarification mostly on theories/theorists.This is the last hurdle standing between my receiving certification via reciprocity, as I graduated 3 weeks ago from my graduate level program, received my certification in my school's state (they didn't require the PLT), and am now transferring it to my home state, pending completion of this Praxis.

I purchased the practice exam bundle from ETS for $45, which gives you 3 practice tests. I took each of them over the course of the last 3 weeks at various intervals and my scores ranged, in terms of selective response, from 53-60 out of 70 questions. It seems to me that a lot of the questions on this particular assessment are basic common sense (e.g. Student A tells you their father punished them by not allowing them to eat dinner for 3 nights. What is your responsibility as an educator? Obviously you need to report this to the proper personnel/authorities). I found myself finishing the exams in about an hour to one hour and fifteen minutes, including the short response questions, which I thought I did OK on...at least enough to merit a 1 out of 2 for a score on each. I sent a response to a personal friend and he thought it was decent. He also read the sample responses and rubric in the ETS study companion and said that it seems nearly impossible to get a 0 on a response if you put some thought into it, stating that one would have to write "almost garbage and be completely out in left-field, lacking substance or meat in the response."